Short form + Golden Girls

Betty White

Womens History Month #27

KSH
1 min readMar 28, 2022

--

Bing image edited in Canva.com by author

“Animals don’t lie. Animals don’t criticize. If animals have moody days, they handle them better than humans do.”

I watched Betty White perform while on Mama’s Family but she endeared herself to me on The Golden Girls. The sweet, naive woman from St. Olaf somehow shared a kinship with me in her character as being innocently unaware of the world.

Somehow this lady is still making it, I thought. Childlike-like belief that someone like Rose really existed and thrived in the world, was oddly comforting.

Her love and advocacy for animals and human rights gave me joy. She became a real badass in my eyes when I learned that she had her talk show canceled because she gave a Black man the spotlight in the 1950’s. It’s one of the first times I’d ever heard of a white celebrity doing that.

Happy Womens History Month. Let’s celebrate, Betty White today.

©️KS Hernandez 2022 All Rights Reserved

Thanks so much for reading. If you’d like to support me as a writer, please click here. ✍🏾☕

--

--

KSH

I’m an ordinary woman, and #survivor #writing—existing in an extraordinary world. Fuck them lanes. #WEOC #BotBEditor introvert #POMpoet #TBIN #Poetry #Memoirs